--- title: "Deactivating a client" slug: "automatically-deactivating-clients" updated: 2026-06-22T05:43:15Z published: 2026-06-22T05:43:15Z canonical: "support.bookingtimes.com/automatically-deactivating-clients" --- > ## Documentation Index > Fetch the complete documentation index at: https://support.bookingtimes.com/llms.txt > Use this file to discover all available pages before exploring further. # Deactivating a client Clients can be manually deactivated so that they are removed from the general search and also from future marketing sequences. This process can also be set up to run automatically based on a specified period of inactivity. Note: deactivations take place every Friday afternoon. ## Manually deactivating a client ### Steps 1. Select the **Clients** main menu item. 2. Search and select the client you wish to deactivate. 3. Unselect **Active** and **Marketing Subscriber**. 4. Click **Save**. ![](https://cdn.document360.io/6926c75e-9b20-4216-bf9f-d7ca1df9c74f/Images/Documentation/image-8VV26JKG.png) ## Automatically deactivating clients ### Steps 1. Navigate to **Setup > System Settings > Business Detail > Clients (tab)** 2. Under **Client Deactivation**, select to automatically deactivate clients after a specified period of inactivity. 3. Click **Save**. ![](https://cdn.document360.io/6926c75e-9b20-4216-bf9f-d7ca1df9c74f/Images/Documentation/image-3GZOCODT.png) > [!NOTE] > Tip > > You may also like to consider [removing Personal Identifiable Information](/v2/docs/personal-identifiable-information) for the client by following the steps in the linked article.